Question for you…

I’m planning our wiring changes and thinking about kitchen appliances.  I personally don’t like garbage disposals.  They get stuck and most of what you can pour down them is compostable anyways.  But I know they’re important to some people.  Should I wire with a future GD in mind knowing it might matter to the sale or rental value of the house or should I just let it be the next persons’ project?

A little background on this question…a garbage disposal, whether it’s hardwired or plugged in, needs to have special consideration for both the circuit it’s on and how the receptacle or box is set up.  There’s a switch, somewhere around the sink, that lets you turn it on and off.  You don’t want to just pull on any circuit that’s in the wall as 1) it might be interfering with code (i.e. that circuit might be powering your dishwasher or fridge) and 2) the convenient circuit might not be able to adequately handle what you’re trying to do (i.e. every time you run your GD, your lights dim).  Right now, with no drywall, counters, tile, and all that jazz in the way, it’s the best time to install a switch and box on an appropriate circuit (I might also need to run some cable to get the right circuit there).  It’s not no-work to do, but it’s way less work to do it now rather than later.  Likewise, there’s some cost involved, but probably less than $50 all told between a switch, a gfci receptacle, and some romex.

Worth it or a waste of time and fifty bucks?

About Nathan

Originally from central Florida (near Orlando), I've lived in the Cleveland area since 2008. When I'm not caught up in the life project de jure, I paint, sculpt, play games (mostly board games and video games), and run a small hobby import/export business.

7 thoughts on “Question for you…

  1. Run the wire for the disposal from the breaker panel to area under sink and leave disconnected on both ends. Easier while walls are open and accessible. Operating switch can be on front cabinet if needed.

  2. I’m going to come up on the skeptical side. I seriously question whether anyone has failed to buy a house of that age due to lack of a GD. If there is a GD, it’s neato, but I can’t remember ever looking or caring when we were house shopping. On the other hand, since your kitchen will end up much modernized, maybe it is an expectation.

  3. Yup, I’m with the majority. You should put it in. Mark hates the disposal, I like it. Nice to have it if you do want it.

  4. Though I recognize its lack of true importance, I am nevertheless attached to garbage disposals. Better quality disposals rarely get clogged no matter what you shove in ’em.

  5. I vote for installing the disposal. Now is the easiest time to do it and it’s another bullet point to add to the kitchen description when selling. Plus they’re neat and sound awesome.

    I’ll have to look it up, but I bought my parents a disposal for this past Christmas (hey, it’s what they wanted), but the model was a Consumer Reports best buy and they just love, love, love it.

Comment

