Fuck up

What’s 7 feet, 10 inches plus 6 inches?

I said 9 feet, 4 inches of course.  And I even made a giant heavy beam that size.

Whoops.

Don’t forget this project is about learning and sometimes you screw up when you don’t know what you’re doing.  To be fair, I screwed up at basic math, which I usually know something about.  The bonus lesson today was how to cut a foot off a 6×6 beam with a 10″ chop saw.  Hint: it needed finishing off with the reciprocating saw…

2013-11-13 10.29.11

About Nathan

Originally from central Florida (near Orlando), I've lived in the Cleveland area since 2008. When I'm not caught up in the life project de jure, I paint, sculpt, play games (mostly board games and video games), and run a small hobby import/export business.

6 thoughts on “Fuck up

      • You should have used our handy-dandy home improvement calculator! 😉

        If you have any more large cuts to make and don’t want to use the spin-it-around method, we have a 14″ miter saw (IIRC; it may only be 12″).

        Of course, the real f-up would have been to cut it a foot short. Like I did on our 100′ dog run. :/

Comment

