Hay Day

My days are pretty long.  I wake up, work work work, come home, take a shower, eat dinner, and then crash out for the day.  In my down time at the end of the day, I often play Hay Day on my tablet.  Hay Day is a time-based production game about running a farm.  You queue up products and they take a certain amount of real world time to produce.  There’s a chain of production beginning with basic crops and escalating through various generations of production to complicated goods like cakes, sweaters, and jewelry.  You collect experience and various forms of money.  The money lets you buy more buildings, plants, etc and the experience lets you level up.  As you level up, you gain access to more inputs, buildings, and other plates to spin.  The game is about efficeny and market values.  Ultimately you’ll trade your goods for experience and money then reinvest those things into more goods.  There’s also an element of dress up.  You can buy decorations and set up and arrange your farm as you’d like.  I’m less interested in that aspect of the game.  I like economics and life-cycle analysis.

Hay Day is a game about small moves.  Any given time, you’ll queue up your production buildings, process your goods, and then you’re kind of done.  It’s going to take hours or days for your goods to produce.  When you sit down with it the next day or three days from now, you’ll start with the goods you queued up or saved to this point, and make a set of decisions about what to sell and what to process into other things.  You’ll decide what to spend your money on.  Then the next day you’ll reap the conseqneces of those decisions.  In a way, Hay Day is a metaphor for this project.  Every day we do something.  Put up a wall, install a pipe, pull some wire, lay some concrete.  Anything really.  Then we wait.  The next day we build on the decisions of the previous day.  If last week I finish all the framing, then this week I start putting in the electrical.  Masonry is a great example.  When laying cinder block you can only build 3 courses high (rows of blocks) in a given day because you have to allow for time for the mortar to set.  If I need to build a wall then today I lay some block.  Tomorrow I lay some block.  The day after I might tuck and finish.  The day after I might seal and paint.

hayday-large-banner

About Nathan

Originally from central Florida (near Orlando), I've lived in the Cleveland area since 2008. When I'm not caught up in the life project de jure, I paint, sculpt, play games (mostly board games and video games), and run a small hobby import/export business.

Comment

