Bumps in the Road

Like most long and expensive projects, ours hasn’t been without it’s share of unforeseen difficulties.  I just finished flattening out the latest bump.  In early January we ordered a hood vent system from Proline Vent Hoods.  Being a former chef, I’m a little particular about these kinds of things and have enough knowledge about their construction to be dangerous.  We initially decided on a Proline hood because they are generally well reviewed for residential applications.  The hood we ordered was listed as in stock and they claimed they’d ship it immediately.  When I had no update after a couple weeks, I gave them a call.  They assured me that they were having delays from their supplier but would ship it out that day.  Another week passes.  I call again.  Again, another assurance that it was going out and this time they gave me fedex numbers.  Okay, no big deal.  I’m used to 2-4 week lead times for ordering material for this project.  I was a bit miffed that they didn’t tell me it was going to take that long, but I’ve got some other things to worry about right now.  3 days pass and the numbers still don’t register anything at fedex.  I call again.  They again assure me that they’re waiting for fedex to pick it up, but I should check tonight for an update.  That night the numbers came back as being in fedex’s system, but there was no package scanned in.  I’ve been involved with businesses that do heavy shipping so I’ve seen this ploy before.  You have a label generated at your site and it sits on someone’s desk until the package can catch up to it.  Then you give it over to the shipper.  This past Monday (now a full month from my order date), I called Fedex to confirm that they never received the packages.  Then I called, several times, Proline.  After being put on hold a few times and having to call back, I finally got someone and canceled my order.  The nice costumer rep said she could help me with that.  She would forward my information to their accountant and I should get my refund in 5-7 days.  I thanked her and asked if she could email me a confirmation.  I then immediately called my credit card company to open a dispute over the charge.  They were super helpful and I have a claim in process.  I’m very doubty that I’ll receive the promised refund in 5-7 days.

The biggest problem with this bump is that my last little bit of framing in the kitchen has been dependent on the hood assembly.  Specifically I need to know if I have to add blocking in the ceiling and how I’m going to run my exhaust line up to the vent.  I was hoping to have the assembly in hand so I could finish the framing.  Related to that, my last little bit of electrical rough in is waiting on the woodwork to be done.  Not to mention the HVAC rough in.  All of which should have been done by now and could have even been inspected by now.

This morning I bought a new range hood from Amazon.com.  While it’s not necessarily all I want in the appliance, it is cheaper than the proline hood by about $200 and Amazon Prime means it’ll be here in two days.  Speed matters at this point.
I ended up buying the Z-line 36″ island hood with the halogen lights if anyone is curious.  It’s not a company I’m terribly familiar with, but unlike many other companies, it was easy to get specs on the product and this one has some positive reviews on Amazon.  I’ll see if I can remember to post an unboxing later in the week.

About Nathan

Originally from central Florida (near Orlando), I've lived in the Cleveland area since 2008. When I'm not caught up in the life project de jure, I paint, sculpt, play games (mostly board games and video games), and run a small hobby import/export business.

One thought on “Bumps in the Road

Comment

