Music

When I’m working at the house, I have an ipod plugged into speakers playing music pretty much all day.  I don’t consider myself a music person.  I like music, but I don’t appreciate music, I don’t think.  But I do have a pretty broad range of tastes.  When my mom was in town recently, I built a play list for her based on some emails in which she named her favorite bands.  I didn’t realize how much I like breadth in what I listen to until I was listening to just one type of music.  She likes rock bands from the 50s and 60s and male vocalists mostly.  I’ve occasionally thought that I should use this time to get to know different music, but I just don’t have the time to seek out something new to plug into the ipod.  Mostly, every few months I just grab a new random assortment of things from my itunes and stuff it on the ipod till it throws up.  Here’s a smattering of what I have playing right now.  Some days I’ll listen to particular albums or artists, but mostly I’ll just put 3 or 4 days worth of songs on shuffle and let it go:

Jay Z (specifically the Black Album)

Eminem

Taylor Swift

Carry Underwood

James Taylor

Counting Crows

Blue October

Bush

Metalica

Britnay Spears

The Soundtrack to Frozen

Alanis Morrisett

John Coltrane

Live

The Soundtrack to Chess

The Soundtrack to Jesus Christ Superstar (specifically the production from 2000)

Paula Cole

Anna Nalick

The Soundtrack to Wicked

The Sountrack to Five Years Later

Beyonce

Ben Folds Five

The Soundtrack to Spring Awakening

Loreena Mckinnet

Old Dirty Bastard

The Beatles

The Killers

Our Lady Peace

Phil Collins

Real Big Fish

Something Corporate

The Soundtrack to O’Brother Where Art Thou?

The Soundtrack to Kill Bill

Sublime

Johnny Cash

Cake

Coldplay

Seal

Posion

Tonic

Sarah McLachlan

10,000 Maniacs

The Soundtrack to The Wedding Singer

Stevie Nicks

Red Hot Chili Peppers

Queen

The Avatt Brothers

Gotye

 

About Nathan

Originally from central Florida (near Orlando), I've lived in the Cleveland area since 2008. When I'm not caught up in the life project de jure, I paint, sculpt, play games (mostly board games and video games), and run a small hobby import/export business.

Comment